Part 1: Chemotherapy Killed My Father

Given that I’m an only child who came after 10 years of marriage, I’ve always held a very special place in my family’s heart.

My father was a scientist/inventor. He was an intelligent, kind, loving, and hardworking man, who did everything within and beyond his power to make his family and loved ones happy.

My father was diagnosed with lung and bone cancer in 2001. He did 3 chemotherapy sessions and died only 1 month later due to sudden Septicemia.

At the time, I went to school in Dubai, and my father was receiving treatment in Cairo. He had just completed a chemo session and his doctor (one of the most renowned oncologists in Egypt), gave him permission to fly back to Dubai the next day.

I hadn’t seen him in almost a month since I had last visited. At the first glimpse at the airport, I could tell he was very ill. He was on a wheelchair and had lost half his weight. He looked exhausted and could barely speak.

My father had always been a very strong man. Even at the peak of his illness, he never gave up or showed any sign of worry or fear. He laughed it off, made jokes about it and made us really believe that he was ok. He ALWAYS had a smile on his face.

However, that day at the airport was different. It was heartbreaking. Chemotherapy had destroyed him. Even though he tried really hard to pretend he was fine, there was too much to hide underneath that beautiful smile.

On the way back from the airport, all I could think about was how much I wanted my father back. I couldn’t bare seeing him so weak and helpless.

When we got home, I went to sleep next to him. I could hear him moaning in pain all night. Unable to relate at the time, I kept trying to imagine what kind of pain he felt, but of course it was impossible. I was agonized by his suffering and worse, there was nothing I could do to make it go away.

He felt slightly better in the morning. He was able to walk around the house and sounded much better.

Towards the end of the day, we noticed rash-like red spots spreading on his arms.

His state started to deteriorate very quickly. He started sweating, and felt very faint. He couldn’t bring himself to move.

My mother immediately called a doctor friend, who was also our neighbor. He rushed over to our house, and as soon as he saw my dad, he said that he needed to be transferred to the hospital at once. I knew something had went terribly wrong.

For some reason, my father wouldn’t let me go with them. He knew he wasn’t going to make it and he didn’t want me to witness his death.

As soon as they reached the hospital, he was immediately admitted to intensive care, but there wasn’t much the doctors could have done. He died a few minutes later.

It was a shock to all of us.

The doctors in Egypt said that he was responding to chemo and that he was making significant progress.

If that were true, what went wrong?

Back then, I was too shocked to question his death. I was also too young. Deep down, I knew something went terribly wrong but I couldn’t pin point the source of this feeling.

For some reason, I completely blocked out the true cause of his death (Septicemia). I chose to believe that it was cancer that killed him. I believed that Septicemia was only a result of his illness. It was easier.

This went on for several years until I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer on the 13th of March of this year.

8 Responses to Part 1: Chemotherapy Killed My Father

  1. obada murad says:

    the 1st time i saw u was in MORE cafe when malda introduced us to each other , the only thing i remember from that day was ” wow this lady looks strong and confident ” … years passed by and now am reading this , all i can say is that i really doubt such a disgusting disease can break u down ! heba , we believe in u like crazy :) with such strength, character and gods will u will take it down and i cant wait untill we celebrate :)

    sincerely,
    Obada Murad

  2. Kawthar Boshra says:

    Heba 7abibty I miss you so much! I am sure you will be fine. You have a so beautiful soul (strong and loving) with such soul you can get wherever you want. I am so proud of you. Your blog is wonderful!
    I read your post here and I am so much interested in the topic. I could see that you are against or you dont recommend the Chemotherapy, from your point of view what is the alternative therapy? Also, can the one who started to receive the chemotherapy for longtime with (recurrent) move to different method of therapy?
    I love you Heba, you are amazing! mwah

    With love,
    Kawthar

  3. hebamitkees says:

    Kawthar!!! I miss you so much too! I’m really sorry I disappeared, but I’m back now and I would love to see you soon! :)
    Yes, I’m totally against chemotherapy because of its nasty side effects on the body. Briefly, it kills the bad and good cells which include a person’s white blood cells responsible for immunity. This makes the person weaker and susceptible to diseases and infections unrelated to cancer. This is why it could easily kill.
    There are millions of ways to prevent cancer and cure it. One of the best ways to cure and prevent cancer is to take 7 apricot seeds a day! :) These seeds contain Vitamin B17, a supplement that we don’t have in our food. In my next posts, I will discuss the different ways to cure and prevent cancer. It’s too much to explain in a comment. hehe
    Alternative medicine is for everyone because it cures the cause of the disease and therefore, reverse the disease itself forever. But of course choosing the type of alternative treatment differs from one person to another depending on each person’s special case.
    Kawthar if you’re asking about a situation in specific, please email me all the details and I will ask my doctors and get back to you! Love! xxxxx

  4. Zeinab Sherif says:

    Heba Mitkees i love you

  5. Eva Kammoun says:

    what of a strong woman you are, im speechless!

Leave a Reply

